Boots with the Fur

6 Jan

While I was browsing AHH today at work, it hit me: celebrities, particularly hip hop and alternative/indie artists, really do influence the way I dress, however indirectly. Is it the suburban white girl in me rebelling? That innate desire to stray from J Crew and pearls and opt for skinny jeans and a L.A.M.B. sweatshirt? Or am I just drawn to the neons, patterns and conversation pieces of spotlight celebs?

I’m not sure I’ll ever know the answer… but I do know you’ll sure as hell never see me in this.

For all you style freaks and celeb fanatics out there: here’s some of my newly-realized favorite fashion icons of late.

M.I.A.

cool

M.I.A.

Even though Cosmo “doubts this is what the Romans wore with their gladiator sandals,” I beg to differ. Cosmo, I doubt that you’ve had any articles with different content except the headlines since 1990. M.I.A. looks sick.

Gaga
Fact: Lady Gaga is overplayed
Fact: Lady Gaga is outrageous.
Fact(?): Lady Gaga might have one of each….
Fact: Lady Gaga is a fashion icon- even if you wear pants.

She might be one of the world’s most unattractive human beings, but let’s face it: she’s good at distracting from her natural features. Whether it be the wild hairstyles, the bloodred lips or the clothes straight out of the Jetsons… Gaga’s got it. All I wanna know is what she wears around the house- cuz you know it’s not Champion sweats.

monster

Lady Gaga

Kanye: BAPE

All over the news (and all caps on Twitter) lately: Kanye West, the new comeback kid, and everyone’s favorite hater, posing for BAPE. Despite the hype, good or bad, I gotta admit: Kayne’s looking fly, and as a lifelong fan of the Bathing Ape, the set up is hot.

Fly

Kanye for BAPE

As for urban brands I’ll never not buy?
Married to the Mob
Insight
Obey

So- go shopping!
Just….. none of this. We don’t need the visual.

wentz

Ashlee Simpson and Pete Wentz

OR…

uhhh

Wut?

One Response to “Boots with the Fur”

  1. Annette January 7, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe!šŸ™‚. I’ll go and read some more!

Leave a Reply

